Tags

, , , ,

(copped photo from slamxhype.com)

I’m on the noir train. I can’t help it. Every where I turn I see the darkness. This time it came from NOWNESS. In their article Y-3: Yamamoto’s Dream, Artist/ Designer Yohji Yamamoto gives a little insight into the workings of one of the fashion industry’s most elusive characters. It also includes the trailer for the soon to be released documentary: Yohji Yamamoto: This is My Dream. Directed by Theo Stanley, the doc follows Yamamoto for a period of several months in anticipation of Y-3’s spring/summer 2010 collection.

The man simply exudes the essence of noir. His spring 2011 collection with its dark solemnity speaks to his style and individuality. His point may be cryptic but that’s what makes him so interesting. Like the man says “for my entire life, I have been comfortable being in black not in the light.”

