Tags

,

I have a secret to tell. I’ve been cheating on fashion. I’ve been having a torrid love affair with a grotesque number of books too far back for me to recall. But it seems the tables have turned as “word” on the street is that the two have been cavorting and have openly declared themselves to be fashion’s newest “it” item.

And who is behind this perfect match? Cue Olympia Le-Tan.

Realizing the slow decline of the book via popular e-readers, which I abhor, the designer launched her “You can’t judge a book by its cover” collection in September of 2009. The collection consists of rectangular, book-like clutches with covers of classical works of literature. These hand knit covers include For Whom the bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway, The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, and Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

I for one think the coupling is marvelous and ingenious. All this twosome needs is a threesome: Me! My birthday is right around the corner and one of these would do just fine should you be completely at a loss about what to get me.

Check out the library here for higher, fashionable, learning!

